The 5th Fort Museum

The 5th Fort was one of the fortifications on the first line of forts around the Brest-Litovsk Fortress. It was built in 1878-1888, modernized in 1908-1911. It is situated at a distance of four kilometres from the Brest Fortress. It has an area of 790 square metres.

The esplanade pillar in front of the Fort. A photo of 2004.The Fort is a five-cornered structure in plan. It was built of brick, enclosed by an earthwork and a ditch filled with water. Behind the Fort, there were barracks with eleven casemates, to accommodate the garrison. In the front of the Fort, there was a caponier, a fortification which enabled gunfire in two opposite directions. It was connected with the barracks by an underground passage, which also interconnected other parts of the Fort.

Since 1908, the Fort was modernized under the direction of the staff-captain Ivan Belinsky. The brick constructions were covered with concrete about two meters thick, side underground passages were built, connecting the barracks with the half-caponiers aside.

The 5th Fort in the period of World War I [1915 – 1916].In 1911-1914, the back caponier was built, positions for the sharpshooters were partially shielded by concrete walls.

In June, 1915, the 6th company of the Brest-Lithuania fortress artillery was located in the 5th Fort.

In June, 1941, the 3d rifle battalion of 44th rifle regiment was stationed in the Fort. When the Great Patriotic War broke out, a group of soldiers tried to break through from the Fort to the Brest Fortress, but had to retreat and was fighting their way to the east.

During the Nazi occupation, there were warehouses in the Fort. In July, 1944, it was retaken by the soldiers of the 1295th rifle regiment of the 160th rifle division of the 70th army.

For some years after the war, there were army warehouses in the Fort. After the military unit left the Fort, it was not in use for several decades.

The opening ceremony of the memorial complex branch, the museum of the 5th Fort. May 8, 2000.In 1995, the 5th Fort got the status of historical and cultural heritage. Since 1997, great restoration works have been done. In 1999, the Fort was handed over to the Memorial Complex «The Brest Hero-Fortress». On May 8,2000, it welcomed first visitors. Presently, the museum «History of the Fortification and Armament» is being created in the Fort. Visitors can see the out-of-doors display of heavy guns and indoors exhibition titled «Western Outpost of Fatherland» that is devoted to the history of the Brest Fortress and this Fort.

On the territory of the Fort various educational activities are held.

The 5th Fort Museum is open for visitors every day from 9 am till 6 pm.

All photos in photogallery...

Музей «5 форт»

5 форт входил в число оборонительных объектов Брест-Литовской крепости первой линии. Построен в 1878 - 1888 гг., модернизировался в 1908 - 1911 гг. Расположен в 4 км юго-западнее Брестской крепости. Занимает площадь – 0,79 км2. Адрес: г. Брест (д. Гершоны), ул. Стародорожная, 99.

Эспланадный столб перед фортом. Фото 2004 г.Форт имеет пятиугольную форму. Был воздвигнут из кирпича, обнесён земляным валом, рвом, заполненным водой. В тыльной части была построена казарма для гарнизона, насчитывающая одиннадцать казематов, обвалованная землёй со стороны напольного фаса. Во фронтальной части находился передний капонир (фортификационное сооружение, способное вести огонь в двух противоположных направлениях) на шесть орудий, соединённый с казармой центральной потерной (подземный коридор, связывающий различные строения форта между собой).

С 1908 г. форт модернизировался под руководством штабс-капитана Ивана Осиповича Белинского. Кирпичные сооружения были покрыты бетоном толщиной около 2 м, построены боковые потерны, соединяющие казарму с боковыми полукапонирами.

В 1911 - 1914 гг. был построен горжевой (тыльный) капонир, позиции стрелков частично забетонированы.

5-й форт в период Первой мировой войны В июне 1915 г. в 5 форту размещалась 6-я рота Брест-Литовской крепостной артиллерии.

В июне 1941 г. в форту находился 3-й стрелковый батальон 44-го стрелкового полка. С началом Великой Отечественной войны батальон был поднят по тревоге. Часть бойцов попыталась прорваться в Брестскую крепость, а потом с боями отходила на восток.

В годы оккупации в форту были склады. В июле 1944 г. он был освобождён воинами 1295-го стрелкового полка 160-й стрелковой дивизии 70-й армии.

После войны некоторое время также находились армейские склады. После вывода воинской части форт был в заброшенном состоянии, разрушался.

Открытие филиала мемориала – музея 5 форт. 8 мая 2000 г.В 1995 г. 5 форту был присвоен статус историко-культурной ценности. С 1997 г. проведены большие реставрационные работы. В 1999 г. форт был передан на баланс Мемориальному комплексу «Брестская крепость-герой». 8 мая 2000 г. открыт для посещения. На данный момент ведётся работа по созданию в форту музея «Истории фортификации и вооружения». Экспозиция артиллерийского вооружения на открытой площадке и выставка «Западный форпост Отечества» в казарме рассказывают об истории строительства Брестской крепости, ее фортов.

На территории форта проводят мероприятия, направленные на патриотическое воспитание молодежи: военно-патриотическая акция «Западный форпост Отечества», игра «Зарница», слеты страйкбольных клубов, ежедневно проводятся экскурсии, открыт для индивидуальных посетителей.

«Музей 5-й форт» принимает посетителей ежедневно с 9.00 до 18.00 (без выходных).

Все фото материала в фотогалерее...